Oh Sweet Slumber!

25 Oct

Today was a day I did not want to wake up for. Everything about sleep was seducing me from the tasks of the day. I had a delightfully unrealistic dream that put me in a pleasant mood, and I was warm in my bed, safe from the violent thunder claps outside our home. My husband’s arms were wrapped tightly around me with my head cradled on his shoulder. Nothing, I was convinced, would take me from this sweet, sweet place.

Then that god-awful sound of the alarm clock began going off…

Just ignore it, I told myself. Just ignore it, I tried to communicate telepathically to my man. Somehow the ESP connection was not made and he actually got out of bed. I rolled over and looked up at him.

“Go back to sleep,” he commanded.

Obediently, I rolled back over and gathered part of the comforter in my arms, drew it up to my face, and curled up in a fetal position. Yes, I will go back to that glorious place I just came from. Now, where was it?

Have you ever tried to go back to that sweet place of slumber once you’ve left it? It doesn’t work. I tried. I tried very hard, but my to-do list for the day began to creep into my brain instead. It finally caused enough anxiety to get me out of bed and on to the day’s work. I’ve already accomplished the three most pressing matters, thankfully. Now, I must move on to the mountain of other matters that wait for me.

If only I could escape to somewhere else. If only I could go back to bed. But I know that’s not real life, and I can’t ignore the things I have to do. So, I shall endeavor to make the things I have to do more pleasant. Some theme music should do the trick.

Leave a Reply

