We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto.

22 Sep

Spending two days at my alma mater has been quite an experience. There really is no other place on the planet like Oral Roberts University. At least, I don’t think there is. I haven’t actually traveled the world to find out if this is indeed true, but I can imagine it is. I just can’t help but think that a place like ORU has got to be one of a kind! Hanging out here on campus the past two days has reminded me of why I loved going to school here and it has reminded me why I am glad my days here are done. Let’s go through the list, shall we?

What I’ve missed(and haven’t missed):

  • My incredible boss who actually cared about what was going on in my life, and still does!
  • My amazing counseling professor who basically gave me 20 minutes of free therapy, and helped me sort out my life. Total genius!
  • The amazing personal pizzas from the deli. Yeah, that’s right. I have missed the food. Never in a million years did I ever think I would ever say that ever!
  • Automatic deep conversations with random strangers. (Why do you keep talking to me? I don’t know you and this is getting awkward. Oh! You’re still talking and it doesn’t sound like you are anywhere near being done! At this point I have no idea what you’re saying anymore because all I can think about is how uncomfortable I am…and you’re still talking.)
  • Being able to eavesdrop on the ridiculous conversations of naive college freshman. (Girl #1: I’ve only ever been grounded once. It was like in middle school and it was really stupid. Two hours after my mom grounded me, I asked to do something, and my mom said yes. So yeah, it didn’t really work. Girl #2: My parents tried to take my phone away from me one time, but that didn’t really work either…Me in my head: “One time I took my mom’s car without asking and I was grounded from driving for a whole month. So my parents actually enforced it and I didn’t drive for a whole month.” ?!)
  • Judgmental looks when my skirt happens to catch as I sit down and it slides up revealing…gasp…my leggings! (Yes, a lady just made eye contact with me and very emphatically gave me that look! I am not making this up. I’m almost ashamed to admit that I hastily pulled my skirt down, instead of leaving it where it was for spite.)
  • The seemingly random laying on of hands and praying for someone at any location on campus. Part of me thinks, “What are they doing? They are so weird!” The other part of me thinks, “How awesome is it that there is freedom to do that and how awesome that they are so ready to pray for others!”  Yeah, there are mixed emotions on that one.
  • Free books handed out at chapel. I didn’t go to chapel yesterday when I was here, but my friend did because she’s a student here and she showed me the free book she got and I instantly wished I had gone just to get the free book even though I probably would never ever read it, just like I never ever read any of the free books I got in chapel while I was a student here.

And finally what I have missed from my days here at ORU:

  • The incredible sense of community and the easy access to good friends and good conversations about real things and the working out of our faith together in person, day to day. There really is nothing like it and it is absolutely incredible. And I miss it!

But it’s a new season, and I have to build a new and different community because I’m not in college anymore.

4 Responses to “We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto.”

  1. colleenhopes September 22, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    you posted! i’ll have to come up with my own list soon 🙂

  2. colleenhopes September 22, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    AND ALSO I will always be in your community. Intervening oceans to the contrary notwithstanding.

  3. Eden September 23, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    I like you. 🙂

  4. lexzuri September 23, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Colleen I welcome you into my community- you are definitely a part of it, even from half way across the world!
    Eden, I like you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

